The Mirror

15622723_10154902579253478_7368351530228157008_n

Silver and bright, reflecting light

A gift from her last Christmas

But she is here no more.

Every morning, I peer into

This makeup mirror on my desk

And think of the heart sister

We’ll never see again.

I pluck and primp, shadow and sigh

Say a hushed morning prayer and another goodbye

She knew just how to be

The sister I never knew I needed.

Not girly, but playful

So fearless, yet feminine

A companion both funny and fine

Of course – this adopted sister of mine.

So, now I have this mirror to remind me –

Both in real size and five times –

Of a face that needs to smile, despite

Missing the mirror’s giver

So far, so out of sight.

 

Leave a Reply

